The Journey to the West, Books 10, 11 and 12

The Journey to the West, Books 10, 11 and 12

This book is a compilation of books 10, 11 and 12 in our Journey to the West series of story books for people learning to read Chinese.  The three stories told here – The Magic Ginseng Tree, The Monster’s Secret, and The Five Treasures – are unchanged from our original versions except for minor editing and reformatting.

In the Magic Ginseng Tree, Tangseng and his disciples arrive at a secluded mountain monastery which turns out to be the home of a powerful master and an ancient and magical ginseng tree.  As usual, the travelers’ search for a nice hot meal and a place to sleep quickly turns into a disaster. In The Monster’s Secret, the travelers encounter a monster living a quiet life with his wife and family.  But all is not as it seems, and things get quite complex.  And in The Five Treasures, the travelers encounter their most powerful adversaries yet, a pair of monster brothers who capture the travelers and plan to dissolve Sun Wukong and eat the others.

These stories are written using a limited 1200 word vocabulary.  They are presented in simplified Chinese characters and pinyin, and include an English version and complete glossary.

Free audio versions of all books in this series is available on YouTube and also on our website,

You can download the full glossary of all words used in Books 1 through 12 of our Journey to the West series, either in PDF format here, or in MS Word format here.