The Investiture of the Gods, Part 1 (in English)

November 24, 2023

In the beginning, the King of Shang was a good man… China, 1057 B.C. The well-meaning but foolish king of the Shang Dynasty has gravely insulted a goddess. In revenge, the angry goddess sends a thousand-year-old fox demon to extinguish the soul of the beautiful young Daji, inhabit her body, and seduce the king into taking her as his chief concubine. Daji slowly gains control of the king and his kingdom, leading the Shang Dynasty…

Continue reading

The Last King of Shang, Book 2

July 19, 2023

In ancient China, the Shang kingdom descends into chaos as Daji, the beautiful thousand year old fox spirit, bewitches the king. Opposing him, the brilliant strategist Jiang Ziya navigates political intrigue and divine machinations to protect the kingdom. Mortals and immortals intertwine in alliances, betrayals, and sacrifice, as they grapple with fate, love, and the power of destiny. This book, the second in the series, is based on chapters 18 through 34 of The Investiture…

Continue reading

The Journey to the West in Easy Chinese (paperback edition)

December 30, 2022

This book contains the complete text, in Simplified Chinese, of the entire 31-volume Journey to the West series of graded readers by Jeff Pepper and Xiao Hui Wang. No pinyin, no English, no glossary. 775 pages. Journey to the West is probably the most famous and best-loved novel in China and is considered one of the four great classical novels of Chinese literature. The original Chinese novel written by Wu Chen’en in the 16th century…

Continue reading